New Florida Laws for 2015 - The Law Offices of Travis Koon, PLLC

Posted by | February 11, 2015 | Attorney, Criminal Defense, Drug Crimes | No Comments

New Florida Laws for 2015

It’s the start of a new year; the time when we make new (or the same) resolutions, and feel that it is the time to get a new and fresh start, a time to try again.  According to law makers, it is also a time to let us all know about the new laws that are being added to the books.

Unfortunately, not knowing about the new laws will not always get you a pardon from the ticket or arrest.  The powers that be feel that we are responsible to pay attention to the news and know that laws that we must abide by.  In a way I agree with this, but at The Law Office of Travis Koon, we know that there are just some laws that our client’s don’t always know exist.  So we want to let you know about some changes that are happening.

Florida Minimum Wage.  Florida businesses and workers should have seen a change that took affect the start of the New Year; the state’s minimum wage increased from $7.93 to $8.05 per hour.  To help off-set this increase, employers should see a 5.2% decrease in workers compensation increase.

Booster Seats.  In the past, children ages 3 and under are required to be in a car seat, while kids 4 and 5 years old could use seat belts… but that has changed.  Now children through ages 5 must be in booster or car seats.  AAA Auto club recommends kids should remain in booster seats until they reach 4 feet 9 inches.  People violating this law may be fined $60 and have 3 points added to their driver’s license.

There were not many laws changed the beginning of this year, but are you aware of the laws that passed last year?  Here are a couple laws that we, The Law Office of Travis Koon, want to make sure you are aware of.

Pain Killers. Increase the amount of being in possession, sale, or manufacture of hydrocodone that is needed to receive the mandatory prison sentence.

Increase Sentences.   The minimum mandatory sentence was increased for dangerous sexual offenders against children to 50 years.

Drivers Leaving the Scene of an Accident.   If a person is involved in accident that results in an injury (a second degree felony) and leaves the scene of the accident, their driver’s license will be revoked for a minimum of 3 years.

These are just a couple of the laws that were passed in 2014.  While you may not be aware of all the new laws, we are.  The Law Office of Travis Koon is aware of the changes to laws and how they can affect you.  We are Florida attorneys with offices in Gainesville, Lake City, and Miami.  Call us immediately if you have had a run-in with the law and need a top notch criminal defense attorney.

Leave a Reply