What type of criminal penalties do you face for a first time DUI Conviction in the State of Florida?
- DUI FIRST TIME CONVICTION FINES: For someone who is convicted of the criminal offense for a DUI and it is their first time being convicted the individual would face a fine not less than $500 or more than $1,000, plus mandatory court costs. If the individual has a blood or breath alcohol level of .15 or higher or if the accused has someone in the car with them that is under the age of eighteen then they would face a fine ranging from $1,000 to $2,0000, plus mandatory court cost usually ranging from $150 to $600.
- DUI FIRST TIME CONVICTION MANDATORY COMMUNITY SERVICE: If someone is convicted of DUI then the Florida County Court Judge shall imposed at least 50 hours of community service.
- DUI FIRST TIME CONVICTION PROBATION: All people convicted of DUI are placed on monthly reporting probation for 12 months or less. Monthly reporting probation costs typically range from $30 per month to $60 depending on the county in which the arrest occurs. In addition to the monthly reporting probation costs, probation will typically require an application fee and that can range from $0 to $300.
- CAN YOU GO TO JAIL FOR A FIRST TIME DUI CONVICTION? The Judge could sentence you up to 6 months in the County Jail for a first time conviction. If the person has a blood or breath alcohol level of .15 or higher then that individual could spend time in a Florida County jail up to 12 months. Other situations where a person could go to jail for a first time DUI conviction are when the person is arrested for DUI and someone under 18 is in the car. Also, if the person is convicted for DUI where they cause damage/injure a person or property that individual could go to jail for 12 months in a county jail.
- Does your Driver’s License get suspended? Yes, your Driver’s License could be suspended from 180 days or 6 months to 1 year.
- Do you have to attend a DUI School? Yes, if this is your 1st DUI then you must submit to a Level 1 DUI School. In addition, you must have the Level 1 DUI School completed prior to being illegal for a hardship license.
- Do you have to have an ignition interlock device placed in your car? The Judge and/or the State Attorney presiding over your case has the ability to impose an ignition interlock device in your automobile up to 6 months. If your Blood/Breach Alcohol Level is .15 or over there is a mandatory 6 month ignition interlock device or if you have a minor child present in the vehicle at the time of the DUI.
- Do you have to be adjudicated guilty to the crime of DUI or may you obtain a withhold of Adjudication? In Florida, there is a mandatory adjudication of guilt requirement for all DUI’s.
Please understand that these are the requirements imposed by the Florida Legislature, however, the Court or presiding trial Judge and Prosecutor are provided wide lead way to increase all penalties for DUI.